Spelling Bee & Matchmaking?

There is a new strategy in the dating scene: An Adult Spelling Bee Contest complete with a martini bar.

The Review
This offbeat mixer revives post-childhood anxiety, but to our good fortunate of being over-age, it allows us to dilute our nerves with a little sweet vermouth at the open bar. Bonding over spelling victories, the singles have spelling categories that range from the raunchy to the ridiculous, such as: Snoop Doggy Dogg, chupacabra, and chlamydia.

While I’m not a martini drinker -but think the glasses are ‘oh so cool’ and collect them for my outlaws, I hope they’ve at least created a drink called, ‘The Spelling Bee.’

Note to Husband: Don’t worry, this site happens to include classes in the arts and it’s all done at the 92 Street Y.

Just another reason why I wished I lived in NYC.

2 thoughts on “Spelling Bee & Matchmaking?

  1. Jeanne Rhea says:

    I read about the spelling bee at Bickett Gallery in the newspaper. (The link did not work for the one you have so don’t know if this is the same.) http://www.newsobserver.com/105/v-print/story/387561.html —and it sounded like a lot of fun. We need something to help us do a little better at spelling. The words they are choosing would not help very much on an average day on the computer. ūüėČ I’ve noticed that the faster we want our computers to work—the faster we want to type and get work done. It seems that it has become acceptable to have misspelled words. I still cringe when I go back and read what I have written when I see that I misspelled a simple word!

    Like

  2. EC (Lisa) Stewart says:

    I believe both reviews about the same thing but have different focus that I happen to find interesting.

    The article from 92Y is actually focused on singles gathering over an innocent game, coupled with a martini bar.

    http://blog.92y.org/index.php/
    weblog/item/spelling_bees/

    The N&O article is fixated only on the competition itself, with a minor mention that it’s hit the bar scene.

    I suppose it’s not all that surprising that the bible belt still insists on influencing free speech.

    Like

Leave a Reply

