Fortune Cookies Are Like Valentine’s

I love Valentines!! I do! I really do! Have I said it before? I do! I do! I do! You know what else I love?

Fortune cookies!!
I found a recipe years ago and thought it would be a riot to make a few. I also decided to make ’em large as large and full of drama as possible. I also think that by using these as edible Valentine’s would be a fabulous way of twisting the tradition.
ecs-fortunecookies21

The cookies you see above are sitting on a dinner plate, this is to give you an idea of size. I had to make them at Deb’s house because our oven sucks: It’s old, decrepit, and needs to be tossed to the curb.

Meanwhile, I thought you’d like to see how I made these. I brought most of my own supplies, including camera & laptop, alas, I didn’t get very many photos during the process because I didn’t feel like taking up space and I didn’t have my trusty MAndrew with me.

Fortune Cookie Recipe
Dry Ingredients:
1/4 flour
1/4 C sugar
1 pinch of salt
(Blend)

Wet Ingredients:
4 egg whites
1/8 teas vanilla
1/8 teas almond extract
(Blend until foamy, not stiff)

Blend in dry ingredients into wet. Resulting batter should be wet wet wet, not dry, clumpy or otherwise a mess. Think Swedish pancakes: runny & thin.

The Fortunes
Take your chosen 8.5 x 11″ paper and trim it length wise to allow for the drama to continue. Be creative with your messages that you write on the ribbons: Include sweet nothings, naughty thoughts or announcements an your fortunes. Always a good time. Be sure to have these completed before you begin baking.

To bake:500*/5 min
Drop big dollop of batter onto cookie sheet and rotate pan to allow the batter to thin outward. Again, make sure your batter is even and THIN. Since I forgot the cookie sheet, I found an 8″ x 8″ pan and flipped it upside down, using the bottom of it to bake the cookies.

I had to adjust the oven to 400* for 4 minutes -this is something you’ll have to figure out. My batter only yields 4 large cookies and after the 4th cookie, I think I had the hang of it -again.

Once your cookie come out of the oven, pull it off onto a flat surface, lay your fortune across it, fold, and fold again. You might want to use a cup or a large muffin tin to help keep your fortune folded as it cools.

One thought on “Fortune Cookies Are Like Valentine’s

Leave a Reply

