Animated Inspiration: Coraline

I love animations. I love the film houses that develop them with such aplomb, succinctness, creative and tireless  inspiration. In my next life, I would love to develop a fantasy animation with my illustrations. Hmm… perhaps I’ll develop my own featurette.

Coraline
Have you gone to see Coraline yet? It’s extremely charming. The juxtapose of her two Worlds force her to identify and accept just what’s ‘right’ with her current living arrangements vs the fabricated, sugar-coated fantasy woven by her mother’s doppelganger living in a parallel world.

I love the surreal colors of the realities they’ve created. They’ve taken stop motion to an all new level and I’m in awe. At this point, the only thing I can say is that I love the Chihulyesque garden. I have such black thumbs that I would so love tending to this garden –at night.

The official trailer

Behind the Scenes
Spoiler Alert: If you haven’t seen it, don’t watch the next clips.

Crafting the World of Coraline

The Inhabitants

Wired DIY
Also, Wired has a great article in their February 09 issue. From popcorn kernels to kitty litter, the DIY manual on the awesome hand-built 150 sets and 250 jointed puppets, plants, & toys with countless moving parts.
coraline-garden

This movie is definitely getting included in our video library!

One thought on “Animated Inspiration: Coraline

Leave a Reply

