Design Fun: Chairs

Sometimes, I miss my sculpture 101 class in college.

It was where we could explore many different materials (metal, plastic, wood) and I remember being assigned a task to create a chair. My chair was made from lathe strips that I cut on the table saw myself (big scary job on a saw I secretly named ‘Christine’). I pieced it together to form around the body: The back part of the seat was large (cuz our butts were bigger than our knees) and the front of the seat was narrow. It was like an Adirondack chair on steroids and my professor encouraged me to pursue 3D.

I found that I really enjoyed designing chairs.

Some women like shoes, I like chairs.

Here’s a quick video that spoke to my love for chairs.

Leave a Reply

