The Influence of Media

How much are you influenced by media? How much do you think you’re influenced by media? Were you aware that even political parties are abdicating their position in the White House and pushing their position as leaders to TV and radio pundits?

No? Let me explain.

I usually try to stay away from politically charged topics but then again, I am small business (the backbone of America) and the older I grow, the more influenced I am by politics. I have to be, they govern my life and my small empire -good and bad. If I’m not aware of what bill is trying to be passed by bureaucratic fat cats, I could lose everything I’ve worked so hard for –including my creative IP.

David Frum, a Conservative dedicated to the modernization and renewal of the Republican party and the conservative movement, reports on the win for HCR and the huge loss for Republicans as leaders in an article he titled Waterloo. Frum sums his article with,

“Today’s defeat for free-market economics and Republican values is a huge win for the conservative entertainment industry.”

That’s right, the conservative entertainment industry. Pundits are paid to deliver bad news and this huge news plays right into the media’s hands. When we’re entranced with bad news on the TV, on the ‘net, on the radio and our friends, family, and even kids parrot what they hear, it must be true, right?

“The real leaders are on TV and radio, and they have very different imperatives from people in government. Talk radio thrives on confrontation and recrimination.” -D.Frum

By relinquishing our power to lead, we officially hand over significant decision making to another powerful group -in this case, the media. This is not only a dubious move, but deadly. While I embrace the 1st Amendment, I don’t advocate hiding behind it. When the Limbaughs, the O’Reilly’s and the Glenn Beck’s wrap themselves in the American Flag and call it gospel, I begin the dry heaves.

Please read Frum’s short article titled Waterloo on the Republican’s “accomplished mission” -it will scare you silly.

For a bit of Daily Show parody, you’ll want to watch excerpts from Jon Stewart’s monologue, homage to Glenn Beck.

Now, I’m going to watch the director’s cut of Harry Potter’s Order of the Phoenix and enjoy the denial of Voldemort by the Ministry of Magic.

Leave a Reply

